An Unexpressed Dream

Every individual aspires to achieve something. Dreams are essential as without them you will not have the motivation or determination to move forward in life. Your goals provide you the strength to face obstacles and motivate you towards achievements. 

I am Monika Ashok Walne. I am 13 years old. I belong to a Katkari Tribe. Being from an adivasi background we already have to fight for our rights in the society. Every step for us is very difficult and crucial. My dream is to study hard and become a teacher as it’s a profession where I can help many more girls and educate them.  However, I am confused whether I would be able to achieve my goal as there is no one to motivate me in my life to achieve my goals. I have three younger siblings and I have to take care of them. I also have to do all household activities. My father is an alchoholic and is uasally aloof  from his responsibilities towards the family. My mother works as a labourer in a construction site. I am so lucky and blessed that I got the golden opportunity to join COGF Day-care Centre. Didi and bhaiya are supporting me to study. I am so grateful that I am able to read alphabets of English. I will study hard and try to achieve my dreams.

Published by Children of God Foundation

Non-profitable organisation which works among the Street children of Mumbai.

Leave a comment